## JONESVILLE CITY COUNCIL Minutes of November 9, 2016

A meeting of the Jonesville City Council was held on Wednesday, November 9, 2016 at the Jonesville City Hall. Mayor Robert Snow called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Council members present were: Gerry Arno, Tim Bowman, Jerry Drake, Ron Hayes, Andy Penrose and David Steel. Absent: Ron Hayes.

Also present: Manager Gray, Attorney Lovinger, Police Chief Lance, WWTP Supt. Mahoney, DPW Supt. Kyser, Treasurer Spahr, Shelly Snow, Christine Bowman, Dana Kyser, Greg Bailey (Bailey, Hodshire & Co.), Alicia Jones Lessard and Ernie Arno.

Mayor Snow led the Pledge of Allegiance and moment of silence.

The Oath of Office was administered by Clerk Means to Councilmen Tim Bowman, Ron Hayes and Andy Penrose for their newly re-elected positions as Councilmen on the Jonesville City Council for four (4) year terms each.

A motion was made by Ron Hayes and supported by Andy Penrose to accept the resignation of Councilman Gerry Arno. Councilman Arno's resignation is due to his being recently elected as Mayor for the City of Jonesville. All in favor. Motion carried.

The Oath of Office was administered by Clerk Means to Gerry Arno for his newly elected position as Mayor on the Jonesville City Council for a two (2) year term.

Outgoing Mayor Bob Snow and the City of Jonesville recognized newly elected Mayor Gerry Arno for his 20 years of dedicated service to the City of Jonesville, and his continuing support of the community. Mr. Snow passed the gavel to Mayor Arno wishing him well with his new position.

Mayor Gerry Arno, along with the City of Jonesville, recognized Bob Snow for his 38 years of dedicated service to the City of Jonesville. Mr. Snow has served 14 years as Jonesville's Mayor/President, along with numerous years of service on different boards. Mayor Arno presented Mr. Snow with a gift from Councilmembers and City employees. WWTP Supt. Rick Mahoney also made a presentation to Mr. Snow for his years of service to the community.

The agenda was approved as presented with one addition: 8.H. – Authorize Payment to Thompson Construction Company, LLC.

A motion was made by David Steel and supported by Jerry Drake to nominate Tim Bowman for Mayor Pro-Tem. All in favor. Abstain: Tim Bowman. Motion carried.

Greg Bailey of Bailey, Hodshire & Co. presented the Fiscal Year 2016 audit report for the City of Jonesville. Mr. Bailey stated that the City had a clean audit with no issues being found. Mr. Bailey commended the Council and City staff for again having a commendable audit.

A motion was made by David Steel and supported by Andy Penrose to receive the Fiscal Year 2016 Audit Report as presented. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Tim Bowman, Jerry Drake, Ron Hayes, Andy Penrose, David Steel and Gerry Arno. Nays: None. Motion carried. Tim Bowman made a motion to file the Certification of Accountability and Transparency with the Department of Treasury. Ron Hayes supported the motion. All in favor. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jerry Drake and supported by Ron Hayes to approve authorizing the purchase agreement of a new dump truck from Tri County International Trucks at a cost not to exceed \$141,236.00. All in favor. Motion carried.

Tim Bowman made a motion to accept, with regret, the resignation of Steve Iles from the LDFA Board. The motion was supported by David Steel. All in favor. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Any Penrose and seconded by Ron Hayes to appoint and re-appoint the following board and commission members:

Cemetery Committee			
	Shea Dow	Re-Appoint	2 Year Term (2018)
	Charles Pfau	Re-Appoint	2 Year Term (2018)
	David Steel	Re-Appoint	2 Year Term (2018)
	Kenneth Hodge	Re-Appoint	3 Year Term (2019)
	Les Hutchinson	Re-Appoint	3 Year Term (2019)
	Mike Kyser	Re-Appoint	3 Year Term (2019)
	Barbara Smith	Re-Appoint	3 Year Term (2019)
Citizenship Committee			
	Tim Bowman	Re-Appoint	3 Year Term (2019)
	Andy Penrose	Re-Appoint	3 Year Term (2019)
Downtown Development Authority (DDA)			
	Ron Gow	Re-Appoint	4 Year Term (November 2020)
Local Development Finance Authority (LDFA)			
	Rick Schaerer	Re-Appoint	4 Year Term (November 2020)
	Gary Kies	Re-Appoint	4 Year Term (November 2020)
Dianning Commission			
Plann	ing Commission		2X T $(N = 1, 2010)$
	Jerry Drake	Re-Appoint	3 Year Term (November 2019)
	Mike Venturini	Re-Appoint	3 Year Term (November 2019)

All in favor. Motion carried.

The Fiscal Year 2016-17 1<sup>st</sup> Quarter comparison (July 1, 2016 thru September 30, 2016) was presented to council for their review. The City of Jonesville is in compliance with the anticipated budgeted revenue and expenditures.

A motion was made by Ron Hayes and supported by Jerry Drake to approve payment of the invoice to Thompson Construction Company LLC in the amount of \$99,436.27. This amount includes 10% retainage of the project cost, to be paid upon completion of the corrections in the Spring of 2017. All in favor. Motion carried.

Jerry Drake made a motion to approve the Council minutes of October 19, 2016. Tim Bowman supported the motion. All in favor. Motion carried.

A motion was made by David Steel and supported by Andy Penrose to approve the Accounts Payable for November 2016 in the amount of \$41,274.90. All in favor. Motion carried.

Updates were given by Department Heads, City Manager and Council.

Wishes of a Happy Thanksgiving were given by all.

Jerry Drake made a motion and was seconded by Tim Bowman to adjourn the meeting at 7:59 p.m.

Submitted by:

Cynthia D. Means Clerk Gerald E. Arno Mayor