Subject To Approval

JONESVILLE CITY COUNCIL Minutes of March 15, 2017

A meeting of the Jonesville City Council was held on Wednesday, March 15, 2017 at the Jonesville City Hall. Mayor Pro-Tem Tim Bowman called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Council members present were: Jerry Drake, Brenda Guyse, Andy Penrose and David Steel. Also present: Manager Gray, Attorney Thompson, Police Chief Lance, WWTP Supt. Mahoney, DPW Supt. Kyser, Fire Chief Adair, Corey Murray (Hillsdale Daily News), Marcia Gensterblum (President Jonesville District Library), and Colleen Armey. Absent: Gerry Arno and Ron Hayes.

Mayor Pro-Tem Bowman led the Pledge of Allegiance and moment of silence.

The agenda was approved as presented.

A motion was made by David Steel and supported by Andy Penrose to appoint Colleen Armey to the Jonesville District Library Board for a four year term through February 2021. Marcia Gensterblum, President of the Jonesville District Library Board, spoke on behalf of Ms. Armey and advised that the Library Board is pleased to have Ms. Armey joining the board. All in favor. Absent: Gerry Arno and Ron Hayes. Motion carried.

Brenda Guyse made a motion and was supported by Andy Penrose to approve Resolution 2017-02 – Deb Hollister for Citizen of the Year. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Jerry Drake, Brenda Guyse, Andy Penrose, David Steel and Tim Bowman. Nays: None. Absent: Gerry Arno and Ron Hayes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jerry Drake and supported by Brenda Guyse to approve Resolution 2017-03 – Les Hutchinson for Citizen of the Year. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Jerry Drake, Brenda Guyse, Andy Penrose, David Steel and Tim Bowman. Nays: None. Absent: Gerry Arno and Ron Hayes. Motion carried.

David Steel made a motion and Brenda Guyse supported the motion to approve Resolution 2017-04 – Keagan Gimenez for Youth Citizen of the Year. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Jerry Drake, Brenda Guyse, Andy Penrose, David Steel and Tim Bowman. Nays: None. Absent: Gerry Arno and Ron Hayes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Andy Penrose and supported by Jerry Drake to award the City Hall Renovation bid for construction and electrical to D.H. Roberts Construction Company in the amount of \$9,115.00 and the flooring bid to Willowbrook Interiors in the amount of \$8,839.00. All in favor. Absent: Gerry Arno and Ron Hayes. Motion carried.

Jerry Drake made a motion to authorize up to \$1,500 from Major and Local Streets for the traffic and speed study for East and Maumee Streets. Brenda Guyse supported the motion. All in favor. Absent: Gerry Arno and Ron Hayes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Andy Penrose and was supported by David Steel recommending an expenditure of up to \$2,200 for a Summer Recreation Program Assistant. All in favor. Absent: Gerry Arno and Ron Hayes. Motion carried.

Jerry Drake made a motion to approve Resolution 2017-05 – Poverty Exemption Guidelines. The Guidelines follow the Federal poverty guidelines, and will be adhered to by the Jonesville City Assessor and Board of Review. The motion was supported by Brenda Guyse. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Jerry Drake, Brenda Guyse, Andy Penrose, David Steel, and Tim Bowman. Nays: None. Absent: Gerry Arno and Ron Hayes. Motion carried.

City Attorney Thomas Thompson left at 6:55 p.m.

A motion was made by Brenda Guyse and supported by Andy Penrose to approve the minutes of February 15, 2017 as presented. All in favor. Absent: Gerry Arno and Ron Hayes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by David Steel and supported by Andy Penrose to approve the Accounts Payable for March 2017 in the amount of \$66,568.04. All in favor. Absent: Gerry Arno and Ron Hayes. Motion carried.

Updates were given by Department Heads, City Manager and Council.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:30 p.m.

Submitted by:

Cynthia D. Means Clerk Timothy C. Bowman Mayor Pro-Tem